Solutions

How to revert field mapping behavior for post, copy, and create subtask transitions (Post transition maps all fields instead of just the mapped fields)



ID:    S142752
Published:    12 December 2018
Updated:    15 December 2020

Product(s)

  • SBM
 

Description

As of SBM 11.5, the default behavior for field mapping in post, copy, and create subtask transitions has changed.  Prior to 11.5, when copying field values to another item, the system used default mappings for each field, but you could override those mappings by explicitly mapping fields.  For example, when posting an item into the same primary table, all field values were copied to the new item and any manual field mappings that you made would override the default mapping. Upgrades to 11.5 preserve this behavior. 
In a new SBM 11.5 install (non-upgrade scenario), if you manually map any fields, the default mapping is cleared and only the fields that you explicitly map will be copied to the destination item. 
 

Resolution

You can change the system to use the pre-11.5 behavior or to use the post-11.5 behavior by updating a row in the TS_SYSTEMSETTINGS table. 

  • To use to the pre-11.5 behavior, find the SetFldsForPostCopyTransOrig entry and change the TS_LONGVALUE to 1.  (Upgrades from releases prior to 11.5 have a TS_LONGVALUE set to 1.) 
  • To use to the post-11.5 behavior, find the SetFldsForPostCopyTransOrig entry and change the TS_LONGVALUE to 0. (New installs of 11.5 or higher have a TS_LONGVALUE set to 0 by default.)

 

In other words, to use the old behavior (in which the system maps fields by default, but you can manually override individual mappings) change the value to 1.

Otherwise, to use the new behavior (in which any manual mapping clears all of the system-provided mappings), change the value to 0. 

Applies To

SBM 11.5

Rate this Solution

Find Answers

Type a question or describe what you are looking for below

My Recent Searches

Welcome kb sso

Additional Assistance

  • Submit a Case Online
  • FAQs